Club Championship

The Club Championship will be a 6 round Swiss tournament, with each round to be played on the dates specified below. Results and rankings are displayed on the right.

Round 1 26/09/18

Round 2 7/11/18

Round 3 5/12/18

Round 4 30/01/19

Round 5 06/03/19

Round 6 03/04/19

Club Championship Rules

Click here to download the full rules as a pdf. The main points are summarised below.
  1. All club members are eligible to enter the Club Championship but, as for league matches, it is also necessary to be an ECF member as the games are graded.
  2. The draw for each round is made using the standard Swiss system with 1 point for a win, ½ point for a draw and 0 points for a loss.
  3. All games must be played on the specified date. Exceptions are allowed at the discretion of the tournament controller. However the last round can only be played on the specified date.
  4. Players unable to play on the date specified for a given round must inform the tournament controller before the draw is made (usually by 5pm on the Tuesday 8 days before the round). In such cases the player will receive a ½ point bye, subject to a maximum of two such byes.
  5. Games should normally be played at the club, starting at 7pm, but players are allowed to arrange to play outside the club, subject to the agreement in advance of the tournament controller.
  6. The time control is 75 minutes for the game but with an extra 10 seconds per move, as in the Durham County and Northumberland Leagues.
  7. Players are responsible for sending results to the tournament controller and/or writing the result on the list of fixtures if a printed copy is at the club that night.
  8. The Championships are played as a combined tournament until the final two rounds. Then players with a grade under 140 enter the Minor Championship section (carrying forward their points) while the other players compete in the Club Championship section. Ungraded players are not automatically eligible for the Minor Championship. The tournament controller will decide on eligibility based on estimate or previous grades.
  9. After the final round the player in the club championship section with the most points is declared the Club Champion. Similarly the highest ranked player in the Minor championship section becomes the Minor Championship Winner.

Club Championship 2018-19 Tables, Fixtures and Results

Current Club Champions (2018/19 season winners)

  • Club Champion:
  • Minor Championship (U-140) Winner: Steve Jefferies

Ranking after Round 6 - 03/04/2019
1Ken Neat54015.0
2Thomas Eggleston54105.0
3Szymon Palucha43014.0
4Steve Jefferies*53114.0
5Dave Renton42114.0
6Robin Nandi42113.5
7Philip Brooks*53023.5
8Tony Shires*63123.5
9Charlie Hazlerigg*63123.5
10Edwin Smith*61413.0
11Zhenya Tumarkin*63033.0
12Vadim Eggert*42023.0
13Joe Barr*52032.5
14Geoff Raw*51132.5
15Bhuvan Jumani*31112.5
16James Cant*21012.0
17Maurice Bell30212.0
18Alan McNamee*31022.0
19Ian Dobbs20111.5
20Sebastian Palucha*61141.5
21Max Rippon*20021.0
22Derek Crabbe*50051.0

Players marked * are graded under 140 so are eligible for the Minor Championship.

Club Championship Playoff - Rounds 1 & 2 - ??/04/2019

1Ken Neat-Thomas Eggleston.....
2Thomas Eggleston-Ken Neat.....

Games in Round 6 - 03/04/2019

1Ken Neat-Robin Nandi1-0
2Thomas Eggleston-Ian Dobbs1-0
3Steve Jefferies*-Philip Brooks*1-0
4Tony Shires*-Edwin Smith*½-½
5Joe Barr*-Charlie Hazlerigg*0-1 (Default)
6Sebastian Palucha*-Zhenya Tumarkin*0-1
7Derek Crabbe*-Bhuvan Jumani*0-1


Alan McNamee*-Abs with msgJames Cant*-Abs with msg
Szymon Palucha-Abs with msgVadim Eggert*-Abs with msg
Max Rippon*-Abs with msgMaurice Bell-Abs with msg
Dave Renton-Pairing alloc byeGeoff Raw*-Pairing alloc bye

Games in Round 5 - 06/03/2019

1Robin Nandi-Thomas Eggleston½-½
2Philip Brooks*-Edwin Smith*1-0
3Ian Dobbs-Dave Renton½-½
4Zhenya Tumarkin*-Tony Shires*0-1
5Charlie Hazlerigg*-Sebastian Palucha*1-0
6Bhuvan Jumani*-Joe Barr*0-1
7Geoff Raw*-Derek Crabbe*1-0


Maurice Bell-Abs with msgKen Neat-Pairing alloc bye
Alan McNamee*-Abs with msgJames Cant*-Abs with msg
Max Rippon*-Abs with msgVadim Eggert*-Abs with msg
Steve Jefferies*-Abs with msgSzymon Palucha-Abs with msg


Games in Round 4 - 30/01/2019

1Thomas Eggleston-Ken Neat1-0
2Tony Shires*-Szymon Palucha0-1
3Edwin Smith*-Steve Jefferies*½-½
4Dave Renton-Charlie Hazlerigg*1-0
5Joe Barr*-Philip Brooks*0-1 (Default)
6Sebastian Palucha*-Bhuvan Jumani*½-½
7Max Rippon*-Zhenya Tumarkin*0-1
8Vadim Eggert*-Geoff Raw*1-0


Alan McNamee*-Abs with msgMaurice Bell-Abs with msg
James Cant*-Abs with msgRobin Nandi-Abs with msg
Ian Dobbs-Abs with msgDerek Crabbe*-Pairing alloc bye

Games in Round 3 - 05/12/2018

1Ken Neat-Szymon Palucha1-0
2Philip Brooks*-Thomas Eggleston0-1
3Robin Nandi-Joe Barr1-0
4James Cant*-Tony Shires*0-1 (Default)
5Steve Jefferies*-Sebastian Palucha*1-0
6Edwin Smith*-Alan McNamee*1-0
7Charlie Hazlerigg-Maurice Bell½-½
8Zhenya Tumarkin*-Geoff Raw*1-0
9Derek Crabbe*-Vadim Eggert0-1


Bhuvan Jumani*-Abs with msgDave Renton-Abs with msg
Max Rippon-Abs with msg

Games in Round 2 - 07/11/2018

1Ken Neat-Dave Renton1-0
2Szymon Palucha-Steve Jefferies*1-0
3Vadim Eggert-Charlie Hazlerigg0-1
4Thomas Eggleston-Tony Shires*1-0
5Maurice Bell-Philip Brooks*0-1
6Geoff Raw*-Edwin Smith*½-½
7Alan McNamee*-Zhenya Tumarkin*1-0
8Sebastian Palucha*-Derek Crabbe*1-0
9Joe Barr-Max Rippon1-0


Bhuvan Jumani*-Abs with msgRobin Nandi-Abs with msg
James Cant-Default

Games in Round 1 - 26/09/2018

1Zhenya Tumarkin*-Ken Neat0-1
2Szymon Palucha-Geoff Raw*1-0
3Charlie Hazlerigg-Robin Nandi0-1
4Dave Renton-Sebastian Palucha*1-0
5Tony Shires*-Alan McNamee*1-0
6Steve Jefferies*-Vadim Eggert1-0
7Edwin Smith*-Maurice Bell½-½
8Derek Crabbe*-James Cant*0-1


Philip Brooks*-Abs with msgThomas Eggleston-Abs with msg
Bhuvan Jumani*-Abs with msg

Previous Club Champions


  • Club Champion: Thomas Eggleston
  • Minor Championship (U-140) Winners: Steve Jefferies & Geoff Raw


  • Club Champion: Ken Neat
  • Minor Championship (U-140) Winner: Geoff Raw


  • Club Champion: Ken Neat
  • Minor Championship (U-140) Winners: Maurice Bell & Jyotirmoy Bhattacharya


  • Club Champion: Ken Neat
  • Minor Championship (U-140) Winner: Maurice Bell


  • Club Champion: Ken Neat
  • Minor Championship (U-140) Winner: Szymon Palucha


  • Club Champion: Dave Renton
  • Minor Championship (U-140) Winner: Tony Shires


  • Club Champion: Ken Neat
  • Minor Championship (U-140) Winner: Peter Turner

Website under construction. New features, content and other improvements coming soon! Copyright © 2010-2019 DJ Smith & Durham City Chess Club. All rights reserved.